Part 6: Into the Wild

One major benefit to living in a mobile home is that you can move your “house” to wherever you are.  But this sometimes means that you live where no one else does.  The range of settings which I lived in ran the gamut from  communal settings where there were other people living similar lifestyles, whether in a yurt or a Tipi, or any variety of bus or van or other type of space large enough to sleep in, but with wheels.  Not mobile homes in the sense that most Americans would take on a camping trip or live in inside a mobile home community, but other types of vehicles specifically altered to become a living space.  From those settings, which sometimes had communal gardens, kitchens and/or bathing facilities (and occasionally fresh water sources like a spring or well), to isolated and undeveloped land with no resources at all.  Often my parents acted as caretakers in some capacity, or did other labor for the land owners, in exchange for rent.

Living in the woods or out in the middle of nature is very isolating most of the time, since we were not close to other children our own age in some of these settings, and after we started home schooling, we were even more removed from society and our peers.  Without electricity, there was also no contact with society through television or radio, and no newspapers (except the occasional Sunday paper).  It didn’t start out like this, we went to school and church in the beginning, but as the years went by, we moved deeper and deeper into the wilderness and away from suburbia.

The trips into town once every week or two were our little reminder that there was a whole other world out there, with other people who lived very differently.  But we were obviously the ones who were different, as could be judged by the shocked reactions people gave us with our long hair and hippy clothes.  Many people had a hard time coming to grips with the fact that I was a boy, since my hair was so long, especially with my pretty eyes and long lashes and sensitive mannerisms.  Not growing up around a bunch of competitive boys resulted in me having emotions that are beat or teased out of most boys before they reach manhood.  But I was friendly and intelligent and most people were nice to me (out of sheer curiosity I have to assume).

Fully immersing myself in society as an adult ( I was almost 17) was truly challenging though, as I had a different cultural experience than most people and had a hard time fitting in.  So I wound up meeting some unique folks and we formed our own group and they helped to indoctrinate me into the ordinary world.  Attending college and working as a waiter and a bartender have offered me the rest of the pieces about social mores and etiquette you need to survive.  But I have always felt that I stand apart from everybody else, even though I make friends very easily now, with a unique perspective that few share.  This perspective has the potential to blossom into interesting films like you have never seen before.  I really can’t wait for this last semester at ASU to be completed so I can start working on my next picture!

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Part 6: Into the Wild

  1. You mentioned feeling isolated living in the woods. When you were young did you enjoy living away from the city, and totally love the free feeling?

    I go camping a handful of times each year and I love the peacefulness and escape from my hectic lifestyle. Staring at a crackling fire brings peace to me, and I love being able to do whatever I want to do.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

